Now for the BIG news - drum roll please - Benjamin slept through the night last night - hip hip hooray! :-) We put the boys down at 7:30pm and at about 10:40pm, he woke up screaming. I wasn't sure what it was cuz it sounded like a different cry than just frustration, so I went in and it was just frustration. When I went in, I couldn't find either of his soothers (I have been putting one in his mouth and one in his crib as well so that he can hopefully find one of them when he wakes up during nap or night time). I had Dad come in and look for the soothers while I took Benjamin out into the dark area - he lay down on me and as soon as we were back in the room, we did a little rocking on the glider and then he went straight back to sleep and he slept until 7:15am this morning! Caleb and Colin slept until 7:30am - Caleb was very pleased that he had slept 'til 7 again. :-) Benjamin seemed much more calm this morning - Dad said that "we put one baby to sleep and a different one woke up." :-)
Benjamin has taken to playing the recorder - Caleb leaves it on the floor when he's done playing with it - Dad took a video of Benjamin playing it today - if we can, we will link it to this blog - if not, we will send it to you some other way - it's really adorable. He's eating quite well today. He ate his cheerios and half his fruit for breakfast, the rest of the fruit and a small piece of banana for snack, a jar of peas and some mac and cheese for lunch and he would have he would have eaten Caleb's leftovers, but since he had already eaten so much, I figured I didn't want him to eat any more of the KD. While he was in his high chair, I began playing a game of blowing with him. I would take in a big breath making a loud sound and then blow in his face - he started doing the same thing back smiling all the while - it was too cute! Another thing that is 'funny' (but not to Benjamin - it's more of a funny 'awwww' thing really) is when we say 'no' to him about something he wants or wants to do. He just stops, looks at us, and then slowly starts to get this really sad frowny face and begins crying. One time he did it, he even took his soother out of his mouth before he started. I almost laughed out loud when he did that. :-)
Around 9:30am, Dad drove us to the Early Years Centre and then went back home to put Benjamin down to sleep. I thought that I was going to be able to sit and relax there, but the boys had other ideas. :-) Colin wanted to play house first and that game took a long time; then we played 'getting lost' and then sandbox and we read six books and by that time, Dad was back again with Benjamin. After a quick snack (Dad stayed with the boys in the van while I ran in the house to get Colin apple slices with cinnamon and Caleb a banana), we went to Blockbuster's to get another video. This time it was Caleb's choice and he first chose a movie which had real people in it. I told him that and asked him if he wanted a real people movie (it was a Disney one) or a cartoon and he said cartoon. So he put that one back and picked up 'The Incredibles'. Colin told him that you guys already have that one and so we suggested he choose one that you guys didn't have, but he said that he wanted that one, so we took it.
A couple of Calebites:
1) At lunch while eating: "Ma". "Yes, Caleb". "I love you." "I love you, too, Caleb."
2) While playing with Colin who had done something Caleb had asked him not to do: Caleb starts crying and says "Now I'm gonna stay sad." then: "Colin, say sorry."
We watched the movie after nap - the funniest thing was listening to Colin saying "Look Pa, look Pa, look Pa!" while they were watching the movie (I was making dinner). I watched the movie a little bit and Colin was full of questions about things as we watched. I didn't mind answering his questions, but I thought it was funny that he would ask these questions since he had seen the movie before. He sure has an inquisitive mind.
He actually woke up earlier than Caleb from his nap and I was playing a computer game called 'Hearts' and he asked me to teach him how to play. We played one game and then asked if we could play another one so we played a game called 'Free Cell'. He didn't understand what we were doing, but he sure picked up quickly how to operate the computer for the game - I was very impressed.
After dinner, Colin asked me to play a game we had started on a previous day and as soon as we started, Caleb came over and sat on my lap to play with us. It's funny when you play with Colin, though, when he has a preconceived idea of what he wants to do. We were playing 'Polar Express 2' according to him, but he had it in his own mind how it should go so if Caleb and I tried to make things up, he would get a little annoyed and tell us that that isn't the way it goes. I had to try and placate Caleb as Colin kept pushing his hand away when Caleb tried to do something that wasn't 'right'. I asked Colin not to do that, but it was like he couldn't help himself (I know he wasn't trying to be mean - he just was a little one-track minded). I managed to figure it out so that I was able to keep both of them fairly happy.
So, we have made it half way through the 'cruise time' and we are still smiling (although tiredly :-) We have been enjoying our time with the boys - we are trying hard to figure out what Benjamin wants. I gave him a bath tonight which he didn't like so it was a very quick bath. When he got out, I 'helped' him drop some toys in the bath trying to make it look like fun. Later, when the boys got in, I had him in with us and he was putting his hand in the water. I am hoping these things will help make the next bath a more pleasant one and less scary for him. I am thinking that I will put him in with the boys because when I did that last time, he seemed better than he was this time.
Oh, and the boys are really enjoying the 'saga' of Erwin and Al - tonight's story was was about them flying into space. It's a two parter so we will continue the story tomorrow night. When it was time for lights out, I gave Colin a kiss and a hug and he hung on while I stood up and kept hugging me. When I kissed Caleb, I guess I didn't give him a proper hug and he told me that I didn't give him one so I gave him a big one and he gave me a big smile. I love those moments and will truly miss them when we go back to Australia.
Benjamin playing Caleb's recorder
Benjamin 'drinking' the peas from the jar
No comments:
Post a Comment