Friday, January 14, 2011

Friday, January 14th - Day 9

Okay - wow - what a night - and what a morning!  Such an adventure!  NOT! :-)  First, last night, I wasn't feeling well - I have had a swollen gland in my neck since yesterday and it hadn't gone away - it was sore and my throat and ear were sore as well.  I also felt chilled, so after I had put the boys to bed, I went to bed.  At 12:30pm, I heard Caleb calling my name.  Turns out he had peed the bed - I had him pee before the bath at 5:30pm and I usually ask them both to pee again before bed, but I guess I forgot.  Anyway, so it was up (both Dad and I) to take the sheets off his bed and change him into dry pyjamas and then settle him onto the little mattress in our bedroom.

I put him back to bed and went back to sleep.  At 2:30am, I heard Colin crying - I went in to him and he told me that he had a headache - I went downstairs, got him some medication and put him back to bed.  I got to sleep in until 7am when Dad's alarm went off.  I rolled over and told him that I was letting Colin sleep in and to go back to sleep.  Caleb woke up at 7:15am as did Benjamin so I took them downstairs and Dad and I gave them breakfast.  Colin woke up at 7:45am and he was not feeling that hungry.  He said that his voice was hoarse (he didn't use that word, but I can't remember what he actually said) and he had a cough, his throat hurt and he still had a headache.  I took his temperature and it was 37.3C which didn't make me concerned.  Since I had this swollen gland, I was worried that I had passed whatever on to him.  So, I called Doctor Milone's office and the doctors were out of the office until Monday.  She wanted me to call back at 3pm to the doctor on call and I told her that I wasn't waiting until then since he was just 5 and had woken up crying.  She then said that she could fit him in at 11:30am.  I told her okay and then we all went to the walk-in clinic for me.  It was closed so I told Dad to take us to the emergency department and we'd see how long it would take. 

They actually got us in quickly (about half an hour wait) and the doctor checked him out (he was very impressed with Colin following his instructions so well).  At the end of the check out, the doctor said that Colin had a virus (probably Adeno) and that there was no medication to help it go away - that it would just take time.  He said to keep giving him acetaminophen and I could also give him ibuprophen at the same time.  I asked the doctor if Colin could go to school and he said 'sure'.  He also said that it wasn't that important that he eat, but it was that he drink as much as possible.  Since it was pyjama day and he really wanted to go to school, I took him there just after morning recess.  When he got home off the bus (Auntie Jennifer was there to get him with me) and I got him home, he felt warm to me and so I took his temperature.  It was at 39.3C.  Oh boy.  So, I gave him some 'Equate' and took it again at 4:30pm, and it was up to 39.6C.  I took it again at 5pm and it was at 39.2C.  Before Jennifer took Colin to her place (he really wanted to go), I decided to call Telehealth just to be sure there wasn't anything else I could do.  The nurse there just confirmed everything I already was thinking so that made me feel better.  Jennifer called later to say that Colin's temperature was at 37.7C at 7pm when it was bedtime, so that is a good sign.

I asked Caleb today who was getting home tomorrow and he said Mommy and Daddy (by the way, when we were saying prayers tonight and I asked him what he was thankful for, he said he was thankful that Mommy and Daddy were coming home tomorrow :-)  I asked him if I should stay longer and he said I had to go back to Australia.  When I asked him why, he said because it was cold here and I didn't like the cold. :-)  This kid is too smart. :-)

I had told Caleb that we were going to get a pizza for dinner tonight (since Colin was supposed to have a pizza for dinner at Jennifer's tonight - he didn't, though - he had some crackers and a blueberry smoothie and some vegetables (his choice :-)  Anyway, Caleb and Pa went out to get the pizza (from Pizza Pizza) and while they were gone, I fed Benjamin the rest of his sweet potatoes (half a jar) and some more lasagna.  Then, when Pa and Caleb got home with the pizza, we gave Benjamin some of it - he ended up eating a whole slice (minus the bottom crust) - this boy sure has a good appetite.  I gave both of them a bath tonight - I let Benjamin stand in the bath while I did his hair and washed his body - he still cried a little, but nowhere near what he did on Wednesday.  He still cried when I rinsed his hair, but I haven't figured out a way to do it where he won't cry.  You can keep working on that. :-) 

No comments:

Post a Comment